Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation

Elections 2012 Regional Spanish-Language Webchat Series

Monday, October 15 – Friday, October 19, 2012. Program times will vary, see below for details URL: http://conx.state.gov/elections2012  

Description:  During the week of October 15-19, join U.S. Embassies Bogota, La Paz, Lima, San Jose, San Salvador, Santiago, and Santo Domingo for a seven-part Spanish-language webchat series, “El Camino a la Casa Blanca: Sistema Electoral EEUU (Road to the White House: The U.S. Electoral System)”.  

Featured experts will focus on issues of interest within the host country and the Americas. This series will address misconceptions about the U.S. electoral process and explain the role of political parties, caucuses, primaries, conventions, debates, and the Electoral College in the U.S. democratic process.  These webchats will also look at what happens on Election Day and the transition between administrations.

  • Monday, October 15 at 15:00 EDT (19:00 UTC): Overview of the U.S. Political System (Santo Domingo)
  • Tuesday, October 16 at 15:00 EDT (19:00 UTC): The Role of Political Parties (San José)
  • Wednesday, October 17 at 15:00 EDT (19:00 UTC): The Road to the White House (San Salvador)
  • Thursday, October 18 at 10:00 EDT (14:00 UTC): Obama vs. Romney and the Use of Social Media (Santiago)
  • Thursday, October 18 at 15:00 EDT (19:00 UTC): Election Day (Bogotá)• Friday, October 19 at 10:00 EDT (14:00 UTC): Overview of U.S. Electoral System (Lima) – NEW DATE!
  • Friday, October 19 at 15:00 EDT (19:00 UTC): Post-Election Day Process (La Paz) 


Format: These programs will be video webchats with an audio-only option in Spanish.  Please click on the URL above to participate.